More than once I have heard: “If only I can go back in time” or there is always someone posting on Facebook a picture with the caption: “If you could go back in time, what would you say to your younger self?”.

These questions made me think. I am the sum total of my experiences. Every mistake, every loss in my life defined me  and shaped me into the man I am today. Every choice has let me to this point, this time, in front of my computer screen typing this message.

If I were to go back in time and offer advice to my younger self, would I have not robbed him of the privilege of taking the journey himself? One of the facts of existence is that we are here to explore and learn from life, but if we go back in time to tell ourselves prematurely, the very core of that lesson will be lost because it will become second-hand knowledge and that is robbing yourself from something… wisdom. Without attaining wisdom, knowledge is nothing, and wisdom is only really fully attained through self exploration of life, isn’t it?

And of course Science Fiction fans would also say that meeting yourself in the past might cause a paradox, but that is a whole other blog entry.

The stupidity of time is the wish to change it… time is a teacher on it is better to listen and replay the lessons of the past than trying to change them.

 

(c) 2014 allen simpson

 

