some doomed lover’s reflection
met me in the mirror this morning
infused with shadows of memories long forgotten
just the echoes of yearnings still clawing
from the Abyss of What-Was and never be again

some doomed lover’s reflection
whispered in disembodied glee
as I looked from the mirror
and that image was me

and when it rains do you see rubies weeping in the grey?
and when it rains do you see the tears of dismay?
when regret clouds the mind and you are wasting away,
and some doomed lover’s ghost is all that remains?

there’s ashes to ashes and dust to dust
and every moment so fleeting
is this lump of meat a heart?
so long ago it stopped beating

Mummified is all that remains of me
a husk left for insects
and in the mirror lies only a horror
and that horror is me

and when it rains do you see rubies weeping in the grey?
and when it rains do you see the tears of dismay?
when regret clouds the mind and you are wasting away,
and some doomed lover’s ghost is all that remains?

and the lover is just me

(c) 2014 allen simpson

