December 17, 2014

Last night I did my usual ritual parking off, watching a series on my computer. My neighbour Marie came over and we watched a few episodes of Grey’s Anatomy, drinking coffee and smoking cigarettes in-between. It was a rainy day and there was a chill in the air. When she finally left I fed my little dachshund and put some ‘Sisters of Mercy’ on to listen to while I lie in bed.

All was silent except for the soft singing of the music. Every now and then one of the peacocks of the plot over the street made a noise but I brushed it off.

I drifted asleep.

Then I dreamed.

There was a little girl in a white dress jumping from one rock to anther rock in the field. She was blonde and had green eyes. She kept on singing the same words over and over like a chant:”I am here, but I am not here, I am gone but not for long.” It was eerie.

Suddenly I saw a dark shape crawling to her, a man dressed in brown with a hat that covered his face. In my dream I wanted to scream to the girl to look out but no words came out. Just as the man in brown closed in, I woke up.

It is now 4:14. I woke up four minutes ago. I feel sweaty and even the cold summer rain air cannot cool me down…

Why is this happening to me….

(c) 2014 allen simpson

