the other side of Rhyme

Hello, hello! Put down your tired feet. Sit there on the couch and let me share three poems with you today. Yes, this is ‘the other side of rhyme’ where you can relax and I share poetry from other poets with you. Today we look at bliss, three kinds of it. Take a moment to relax and led the verses take you on a journey, both fun as well as relaxing and maybe a little twist of insanity

‘Fall, leaves, fall’
by Emily Jane Brontë

Fall, leaves, fall; die, flowers, away;
Lengthen night and shorten day;
Every leaf speaks bliss to me
Fluttering from the autumn tree.

I shall smile when wreaths of snow
Blossom where the rose should grow;
I shall sing when night’s decay
Ushers in a drearier day.
Emily Jane Brontë

-0-

The First Universe’s Orgasm
by Atef Ayadi

The cold
I never expected
The warmth
I never had
Are flashing my soft
Bones
With pure water
As I am rising in the air
As I am floating
Underneath
My Golden
Skin.
This is the first wave
Of the blast of her
Deadly glance.

Atef Ayadi

-0-

! An offering of bliss to you
by Michael Shepherd

Your bliss is not my bliss
and yet perhaps
if I tell you my bliss
there may be a place
where we can meet
beyond words

My father
used to meet that small him
who was me
every afternoon from school
in the green park across from School
he had no job then,
it got him out of the house

One day
which lives in bliss
he had this tiny
black and white bundle
straining on a new brown leather leash
overjoyed to see me
though we’d never met

Michael Shepherd

