“Of all the animals, man is the only one that is cruel. He is the only one that inflicts pain for the pleasure of doing it.”
Mark Twain

so close to winter that it starts to taste funny
so deep in autumn all the leaves so yellow, runny
so broken like a skeletal tree in midwinter
so open wounded frozen that i splinter

and i am gone, fading away
waning like the moon
and i am adrift in this storm
and you never call my name

so close to love that it is bleeding
so close to hate that it sucks me dry
so close i can whisper to you your name
but you’re so deaf in the storm’s eye

and i am nuclear waste, lying
somewhere you threw me into the woods
i pollute the beauty that is left
because you left me open wounded frozen and i am splintered
impaled is all the purity in me that remained

so close you can catch my blood in your hands
so far you refuse to heal me, but oh you so love to kiss my scars…

(c) 2015 allen simpson

