tempered in fire, cast from steel
times erosion leaves is marks
forged with hammers on anvils of iron
even I, the weapon can kneel

I have pierced many foes
in battles for my soul
yet rusted and broken
all swords will eventually end

there have been promised
there have been assurances
yet all sword must go back to the earth from whence they came

there is not bitterness I have done my best
to fight in the battles for times of peace to come
as I now lie here I give my final glimmer
in the unreachable sun

this is the end a legend must die
for a new legend to be born
a new legend to grow majestic wings
and soar to it’s own sky

I have pierced many foes
in battles for my soul
yet rusted and broken
all swords will eventually end
even the new legends will rust away

(c) 2015 allen simpson

