ashes

It’s a twilight winter’s day and i can’t seem to wake up
it is cold outside and even the sun is pale without it’s make-up
fingers trembling to the soul, I light a cigarette
but all the flames to keep it warm just ends up dead

the harmony is broken the wheel does not turn
the day is so frozen that all it does is burn
lips cracked like ice break if I am not silent
even breathing is like a smoking passive violence

and I miss you in between, I am cold dear
and I hunger for your warmth, I feel old, dear
my day is ashes and I pick it up with a fork
it just falls back through the cracks

It’s a twilight winter’s day and I can’t seem to resurrect
dead inside and every room of me is painted black
my day is ashes and still I try to pick it up
it just falls through the cracks
it just falls through the cracks…

(c) 2015 allen simpson

