I am waiting in the dark
I wonder if my faith in you will come back
(I hear the sound of a bleeding heart)
faith used to shine but now it is a dead sun
I want to believe that it will shine again

seven billion suffering
at war with itself
humanity needs to breathe
and still faith is a dead sun

I pretend I am alive
my soul bleeds and I touch the gaping wound
I worry that the blood won’t stop
I cannot breathe and I am waiting in the dark

I understand faith used to be alive
but now faith is a dead sun

I dream that it will resurrect itself
I try to summon it back to me
I hope it can hear me
will the dead sun come alive?
We are waiting in the dark

seven billion suffering
at war with itself
humanity needs to breathe
and still faith is a dead sun

(C) 2016 Allen Simpson

Photo was taken at the Smuts House, Irene

Photo by Hanneliese Bredell

Photo Design by Allen Simpson

