Oh hear me; oh hear me, oh silent sun
Winter is falling, the season has come
The voices of birds have begun to fade
The world is in its monochrome stage

And the wind, howlingly sings, bringing the news
It is cold, and feels old, and it’s a new age

Oh hear me; oh hear me, oh silent sun
Winter is falling, your heat is gone
Somewhere a bear dreams or warmer days
Of hunting for fish under your yellow rays

And the wind, howls and sings its lament
All is dry and feels cold and we’re chilled to the bone

Oh hear me; oh hear me, oh silent moon
Your light is dark and the clouds shroud your hue
Something is creeping from the dark of the night
Cast your light, cast your light, give me the power to fight

Still the wind, howls and sings us a dirge
As from the darkness, something unnatural stirs…

© 2016 Allen Simpson
Inspired by Game of Thrones… winter is coming

