And again like once before
I find myself on the floor
laughing like a marionette
controlled by strings of Fate and
I remember that last time
and this memory is as clear as if
it is crawling on the highway of my dreams

all I know is that if you dance with the bottle
with you, the ghosts will dance
in every drop, there are a thousand stories
that will lead you into a trance

The memory is clear:
“it was a pale moonlit night
the silence was cutting me
like a blazing blade through butter
not as if it would actually matter
there was a mist brewing in the woods
one step was a promise of a thousand routes
and from the mist a shape appeared
it was a scene maybe you would have feared
but I stood strong and the scene unfolded
it was a phantasm that neared
it grinned and disappeared
and I woke up then with a gasp
to see the same spook beside my bed
sipping from my whisky glass”

and again like the once before
I am now on my kitchen floor
laughing as the spook is here
holding my empty whisky glass
maybe I should lay off the drink

-is this phantasm real
or the hallucination of my hangover mind?

all I know is that if you dance with the bottle
with you, the ghosts will dance
in every drop, there are a thousand stories
that will lead you into a trance

(c) 2016 Allen Simpson

Inspired by the music of NosferatuThe Wake and Corpus Delecti

Photographer: Hanneliese Bredell, Model: Wolfie 😉

