My mascara is runny, my lipstick is smeared
my cigarettes are just ashes
my black stockings are torn

I am so happy, I can’t escape myself

My black tar lungs wheeze your name
but the pillow next to mine is empty
and instead of your warmth, it plays a cold medley

I am so happy, I can’t escape myself

last night you spilt your beer
on my cheek, neck and shoulder
I remember your kiss, the beer’s smell is older

I am so happy, I can’t escape myself
my hangover and you, so sour in my mouth
last night’s birthday cake burning in the ashes
we should feed it wood but the fire is already dead

I am so happy, I can’t escape myself
I am so happy, I can’t find the keys
I am so happy, chained up to your bed
I am so happy, baby, the morning sky is red
I can’t escape you, I can’t escape myself…

(c) 2017 allen wolfie simpson

