monologues: a wolfie perspective on a So-called life

these are my thoughts, they are not right or wrong, they are mine.

“Turn your wounds into wisdom”
Oprah

“Your only obligation in any lifetime is to be true to yourself.”
Richard Bach

People always have that Hollywood dream of, after going through times and tribulations, that scene where they drive off on a horse into the sunset and live happily ever after. People always have their own definitions of happiness. But life is not here to be happy every day or to one day have happiness forever – In reality, life is filled with situations that can wound us.

If we learn through those wounds and like Oprah said turn them into wisdom, we can find happiness. To me personally learning and attaining wisdom from bad situations can be a healing experience. Only you can make yourself happy. My life is not happy or sad. Every day I find a small happiness in a thought, sound, or something I see. Those little happy moments are precious. If you are lucky you might have a happy streak for a few days or weeks, but life happens. Remember 2020. During the lockdown, it was difficult to find happiness but we survived. Even in that global time of unhappiness, there were good times and little bursts of happiness.

Fulfillment is also a dream. It is not chasing a big goal, since life happens and pulls that fulfilment rug from under you. How many had their dream job and businesses and felt fulfilled until the lockdown of 2020 robbed them of that when their businesses failed and they lost jobs. Be true to yourself – can material pursuits really give fulfilment if they are so fragile? To me fulfilment is every kind word I give, every person I can help, even with limited resources. To give little smiles on someone’s face even with one of my poems. To reach someone briefly and give them joy. I have met some of the readers of my poetry who said that a poem of mine gave them courage or strength. Now that is fulfillment. Sharing my heart and it reaching another’s soul. A little moment of happiness…

Being true to yourself can bring happiness and fulfilment.

Allen Wolfie Simpson 2024