I

A cat, I am told, has nine lives. If that is true, I know how a cat feels. Caryl Chessman

People are strange when it comes to cats. People who love cats, people who hate cats, people that are allergic to cats but still love them and idiots that hate cats just because they are allergic to cats. I love cats but I am allergic to some of them. I can never understand why people hate animals just because of an allergy. A healthy respectful fear, that I can understand but it is not as if it is the cat’s fault that you have a health problem.

II

A black cat crossing your path signifies that the animal is going somewhere. Groucho Marx

Some people are superstitious. They believe that if a black cat crosses their paths something bad is going to happen. Maybe something bad is happening to them… they are idiots and being an idiot is a serious sickness, yes?

III

‘But I don’t want to go among mad people,’ said Alice. ‘Oh, you can’t help that,’ said the cat. ‘We’re all mad here.’ Lewis Carroll

Cats are amazing, they either make people mad or people are just mad about them. There is no middle ground.

 

IV

The clever cat eats cheese and breathes down rat holes with baited breath. W. C. Fields

Cats are also more clever than some humans. We have politics and politicians and we always end up fighting. Cats only vote for themselves. Whenever you call a cat it decides if it wants to respond, and if you are lucky they will go to you. Also, they are picky over who they like. I have discovered that if my cat ignores someone, I also find that I do not like that person.

 

V

One of the most striking differences between a cat and a lie is that a cat has only nine lives. Mark Twain

Life can be hard. How a cat can endure nine lives is a scary thought. I wonder where that belief came about sometimes, but I must say I have once seen a cat fall from a three-story window and walk about as if nothing happened. And I once lived in a building where a human accidentally fell from the third floor. The man did not make it.

Cats are amazing.

(c) 2016 allen simpson

The cat in the photo is my cat Arrow’s kitten that she gave birth to on 29 September 2016. We call her Lady Vine.